I’m Offended by Your Offense!

There’s the War on Christmas.  And then there’s an imaginary and bizarre politically correct zeitgeist flowing through the corporate offices at Amazon.com.  They are now referring to it as the “12 Day of Holidays” instead of the “12 Days of Christmas”.

I don’t think I could put it better than Jeffrey Goldberg, a Jew if there ever was one, to sum up precisely how ridiculous this is:

Well, this Jew objects. I mean, for Christ’s sake, it’s Christmas. Can’t we call a thing by its name? Hannukah is a minor holiday of a minority religion. New Year’s Day is merely a day on the calendar. It’s a holiday season because it’s Christmas.  I love Christmas. I don’t celebrate it, but I love it; I love the season, the lights, the chestnuts, the message of peace. I love the way our most Jewish city, New York, looks on Christmas. “Holiday” isn’t a holiday. It’s a way of avoiding offense. But who, exactly, is offended? This is what I don’t understand.

The conspiracy theorist in me feels that this move on Amazon’s part is to engender anger from the Bill O’Reillys of the world, thereby perpetuating the War on Christmas and making Jews and atheists (those Winter Solstice folks) look bad.  But I only have a very small conspiracy theorist in me. I promise.

4 responses to “I’m Offended by Your Offense!

  1. Hear, hear!

    It’s always interesting to me that a very small minority of offended individuals can create such a furor.

  2. It’s because the rest of the rational people don’t make news by not getting upset by every little thing.

  3. It looks like there have to be things in America that are politically incorrect. And idiotic. And neurotic. We are a society that seems to becoming increasingly allergic to calling things by their real names.

  4. Will the moderator be back in time for Christmas 2009?

Leave a Reply

