I Shake My Fist at You, Louton Airport

Air travel, inevitably, is full of anxiety.  Wherever you are, you are going to be worried about making it to your destination on time.  Traffic, delays, weather, luggage.  It’s all part of what makes people so fed up with traveling by plane these days.

The worst travel experience I’ve ever had (at least that I can recall) involved a really unlucky late arrival to the Louton Airport outside of London.  EasyJet, my budget airline of choice, required all passengers to check in 45 minutes prior to departure.

I was flying from London to Barcelona on a 6:25 am flight.  To expedite my travel arrangements, I cleverly decided to stay up all night, rather than getting only an hour or two of sleep, so I could be at the airport by the required 5:40 am.

Long story short, I arrived at the EasyJet counter at exactly 5:41 am.

“No way, no how, no ma’am, we cannot check you in,” the Easy Jet lady said. “You are going to have to take the 11 am flight for an additional charge.”

I was meeting my best friend Misty in Barcelona.  Misty was flying to Barcelona from the United States.  We had no way of communicating, because Misty did not have an international cell phone.  I begged and pleaded; tears sprung from my eyes.  No dice. I paid the fee, started to watch fresh-faced British families stream into the airport, people who had not been up all night…let’s just say this was not my finest moment.

I made my way, huge backpack in tow, into a stall of the ladies bathroom.  I cried for a long time. I got in touch with my parents back in the States to see if they had a way of getting a message to Misty through the airline.

I tell this story to give you an idea of what a really distraught person does when they are frustrated, angry, and emotional after a big travel letdown.

This video is to show you what a crazy person does when they miss a flight from China to San Francisco:

Needless to say, Cathay Pacific put the woman on a later flight to Los Angeles.  I took the later flight to Barcelona and found a tearful Misty waiting in Arrivals for me.  Which is to say, these kinds of things are traumatizing, but ultimately resolved.

2 responses to “I Shake My Fist at You, Louton Airport

  1. So a very small part of me felt like acting like a crazy person when the EasyJet lady in Barcelona would not tell me if you had made your flight or not, but I somehow managed to keep my composure and also cry in the privacy of a bathroom stall. But if I had known I could have YouTube fame things may have turned out a little differently! (and didn’t we say that one day we would laugh about that incident…I’m still waiting for that day to come)

  2. HAHAHA omg, i just laughed so hard imagining you creating the same outburst as that vid in the airport in London. its only as funny though if i can pretend you are screaming in korean or whatever.

    PS it was decided that ed and i will be heading to B-town sometime in July…because stories of these travel catastrophes that happened to work out make me miss that place in the worst way….

    try showing up for 3.5 months abroad completely alone and not being able to get in touch with your host family for over 24 hours…that was scary.

Leave a Reply

